how to tell if navajo pearls are real

Handmade sterling beads are often part of a Squash Blossom necklace, and are also made to be worn alone as a single strand necklace, layered or with pendants. When possible, support Navajo artisans who are continuing their tradition of craftwork and putting in the hard work to ensure quality jewelry gets to consumers. You can often see flakes or chipped coating around the drill holes that will eventually peel off. Wipe your pearls dry with a soft cotton cloth. I have been coming here off and on for quite a few years now and each time I do visit, I learn something new (and Ive been collecting for many years now). Note the prominent seams on these bench made beads, part of a squash blossom necklace made of howlite. Rub the pearl across your front teeth, but not the edge. Weight also affects drape. Handmade Native American beads are the most cherished and desired by customers. However, if you need to know whether your pearls are real, then you might want to visit a gem lab to have your pearls x-rayed. In order to be as accurate as possible, youll need to do this test on pearls that youve not been wearing, as your body heat can affect the result. Include an image for extra impact. How to Take Out a Conch Piercing Jewelry in 3 Ways, Do You Want a Bottom Lip Piercing? So, one way to tell if your pearls are real is to feel their weight on your hands. A Navajo named Tommy Singer developed the chip inlay process, which utilizes left-over chips of turquoise, red agate and coral, mixed with plastic resin and set into an overlay design. A Navajo Pearl Necklace is an essential piece to a Punchy Western Fashion Wardrobe and can be worn casually or a bit more formal. My name is Karen Crooks and I have a question about a vintage Native American sterling silver graduated stamped bead necklace with 67 graduated beads. The lustre of fake pearls has a glassy look and is unnatural. The picture that has this name under it is my favorite. Although th